Interview with Brian Bowyer (Author/Editor/Screenwriter)!

Published March 10, 2014 by glgiles

 “Brian Bowyer has been writing stories and music for most of his life. He has lived all over the East Coast. He has worked as a musician, a banker, a bartender, a bouncer, and a bomb maker for a coal-testing laboratory. He currently lives and writes on the road” (http://www.amazon.com/Brian-Bowyer/e/B005O52URM/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0).

 Image

I loved reading the reviews of SHELF LIFE at Amazon! Which one, in particular, really nailed it?

All of them, I suppose. I appreciate readers who take the time to write reviews. I also like the feedback I receive in emails and social-media messages. Writing is such a solitary endeavor. Responses from readers let me know that I’m not taking these voyages into my imagination alone.

How do you go about creating your composite characters?

I usually just start with a name. After that, the characters come to life on the page and I’m just along for the ride, learning more about them as I go.

Do you believe in creating elaborate character profiles before you start writing?

No, I don’t. Characters reveal themselves to me while I compose and that discovery is one of the joys of the writing process. They always surprise me and that’s endlessly entertaining. As the author of a story, I’m also its first reader. If it works for me, I’ll keep writing, just like I’ll keep reading a story if it intrigues me. To me, writing is just an extension of reading. You start out reading the works of others, and then, eventually, you want to try it yourself. You think you can do better, and so you try to. And then you’re pretty much hooked. It’s an addiction.

#truth LOL! I know that you frequently listen to Beethoven now on your off time, but what bands/solo artists do you listen to, if any, while you write?

I never listen to music while I write. I can’t have a TV on, or anything else. I need absolute silence when I’m writing. I don’t even like anyone else in the house when I’m writing.

What are your thoughts on Spotify and/or Pandora?

I downloaded Spotify to one of my phones a few years back, but uninstalled it not long after. I never listen to internet radio. Whenever I do want to listen to a song on my phone, there’s not much I can’t find on YouTube.

Have you ever written two books concurrently? And, if so, would you recommend it?

No, I haven’t. When it comes to writing, I’m a serial monogamist. I give everything I have to whatever book I’m working on, and then, after I’m finished, I move on to the next one.

Please tell readers why you were inspired to pen your crime novel titled Graveyard Blues.

Pantera is easily my favorite band of the nineties, if not all time. I don’t remember passing out on the night of December 8th, 2004, but I do remember waking up around two in the morning on a couch in my old house in West Virginia, still drunk and very thirsty. I staggered into the kitchen, grabbed a soda from the fridge, and then made my way back to the sofa. The TV was tuned to CNN. On the leftward-moving ticker at the bottom of the screen, a headline read something like FORMER PANTERA GUITARIST DIMEBAG DARRELL LANCE ABBOTT MURDERED ONSTAGE TONIGHT BY DERANGED FAN WHILE PERFORMING IN COLUMBUS WITH HIS NEW BAND DAMAGEPLAN. I couldn’t believe it. I was so angry I wanted to break something. I finished my soda, and then switched back to whiskey. December 8th, 2004 was exactly twenty-four years to the day that John Lennon was murdered by a deranged fan in New York City. Anyway, I wrote GRAVEYARD BLUES as a sort of love letter to Dimebag, and then put it in a drawer and forgot about it. Years later, in late 2011, I was dating a girl who also happened to be a huge Pantera fan. When I told her that I had written a love letter to Dime, she of course wanted to read it. She did, loved it, and insisted that I publish it. So I did. But I rewrote it first, of course, although I changed very little, even though nearly seven years had passed between the first and final drafts. I got the title from an old song by Robert Johnson. He was the blues guitarist from Mississippi who allegedly sold his soul to the devil at the crossroads.

Thanks for the interesting and illuminating tie-ins! You’re a screenwriter, too, and you recently sold a screenplay for a six-month option, correct?

Yes.

What can you tell readers about it?

It’s a crime film called LOWER DEEP. The screenplay’s available at Amazon in my book NIGHTHOUSE. Perhaps you’ll see it on a screen in the future. No idea. The option expires in May, so the production company that bought it has until then to let me know if they’re going to make the movie. It’s been described as PULP FICTION meets NATURAL BORN KILLERS, and I can’t argue with that. I suppose a lot of my fiction could probably be described that way.

Great movies! Would love to see yours, too! Plus, wearing many hats well, you’re also an editor. Where can readers go to check out your services and rates?

I edit for a publishing company and they keep me pretty busy. However, I also do freelance work for indie authors. I charge a dollar per page. I can be reached at brianbowyer@suddenlink.net.

Now for a fun question:  What strenuous efforts did you take to ensure that your finished writing projects had no flaws?

I always write multiple drafts of anything before I show it to anyone. Usually, when an editor edits my fiction, they’ll say something like, “I only found one typo in three hundred pages.” And then I’ll say something like, “If you found one typo that I missed, you were worth whatever you charged me.” Showing your fiction is pretty much opening your mind to the world and saying, “This is what I’m made of.” Do you really want your work exposed to the public before it’s been professionally edited? I know I don’t. The thought of a lone typo in a novel with my name on it makes my skin crawl.

Makes perfect sense to me, at this point, too! Where can readers go to learn more about you and your wonderful work?

Here’s my Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Brian-Bowyer/e/B005O52URM/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1394258084&sr=1-2-ent

Here’s my Facebook author page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Brian-Bowyer-Author/237415783011375?ref=hl

And here’s my personal Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/brianbowyer99

 

Thanks again, Brian!

Thank you, GL! 

Image

4 comments on “Interview with Brian Bowyer (Author/Editor/Screenwriter)!

  • Leave a Reply

