Interview with Author David Scott Pointer!

Published May 4, 2014 by glgiles

Image

David Scott Pointer’s forthcoming horror poetry book is entitled “Beyond Shark Tag Bay,” and it will be sold online at “Blurb Books.” He’s also recently had children’s poems included in a charity anthology entitled “Bleed” which will help raise funds for a children’s cancer ward in New York. Moreover, he’s a frequent contributor to his local homelessness newspaper in Nashville. A paper which lets the vendors keep the profits in order to try and improve their situations. He was also published in “Battlespace,” a military science fiction anthology. The book is sold at Amazon.com to raise funds for the “Warrior Cry Music Project.” Other publications he’s been a part of are: “Tales of the Combat Zone,” “Blue Streak,” “Proud to Be: Writings By American Warriors, Volumes I & II,” “Stone Canoe,” and others. In addition, he’s written social justice/political poetry for many years and was asked to serve on the advisory panel at “Writing For Peace,” in 2012. This group teaches young people 13-19 how to write for world peace. And, recently he’s had pieces accepted at Horrified Press, Thirteen Press, Barbwire Butterfly Press and James Ward Kirk Fiction. It’s been my pleasure following his Facebook posts here.

Q. How have your degrees of Criminal Justice/Psychology and Sociology directly and/or indirectly influenced your work? Please give examples.

A. I arrived in the college creative writing class with a certain worldview already in-place. I was interested in writing about social and economic justice and related topics. So, I noticed the corporate influence or hegemony that had already sanitized poetry and narrowed the definition of what was good or highly awarded literature. I had just finished a tour as a Marine military policeman before entering college, so I wanted to know more about how the world really worked at all levels. The above listed fields of study were just a partial starting point for expanding my complexity horizon about the world. Later I hoped this “expanded vision” could be reduced down to make small pieces of “art.” Here is an example that I feel is representative of the spirit of my work. It appeared in “Dreaded Legacies” anthology published by Editor George Wilhite formerly with “Static Movement” now a founding editor of “Thirteen Press.” Poet Stephanie Hiteshew told me that she thought this poem was my best one.
The Elephant Woman Lovingly Remembered

-Dedicated to Mrs. Virginia
Foster in Memoriam

Look, I didn’t bring you here to remember the
Fine glow on my grandmother’s Mason jars,
Nor do I have any pardon-me dwarf day lilies
To pass out like bottled water after the poem.
The amputated extremities of my well wishers
Are wrapped and refrigerated in the mind’s
Morgue of memory, and so it is with Mrs.
Foster’s unexamined crash file, unautopsied
In images so bleak I can’t measure the
Neurotoxicity in each dreaming night since:
I met the widowed Elephant woman, Mrs.
Foster at 12-B Bradshaw Drive in 1973,
She had swollen purple lollipop fingers
Soothing her children’s daily lives, had
Happy clacker-style clapping hands
When kid’s played housing project baseball
With house fire hot singles and homeruns,
With crowdlessness overcome by her
Generous encouragement. In 1991, I
Learned she had previously adorned
Perfect high school attendance (1948-1952).
And that a silver-plated plaque (retroactive)
Commemorated this iconic school event.
What had those hallway years been for her?
Perhaps, like a horror movies hospitality
Committee her classmates cometh and down
Gauntlets of goodwill she went four years
Club-foot steppingly faster until her diploma
Bloomed with delivery. Had she learned to
Circumnavigate the nonviolence of smiles
Better than the blue heron at Stones River,
Lifting, low still over the gladiator water lilies,
Better than the struggling bank robber’s son
Who would one day shoot for this poem-
Who could come down hills from his own
School faster than a Lakota kid riding winter
On a buffalo-rib sled slicing past the first
Fists of social class exclusion, lifting
Low still over the rocket red larkspur
Her luminous smile rouge-cheek-red
Honoring the children rowdy over bases or
Royal with romp-n-chomp summer recess.
Look, Mrs. Foster’s inner spirit was as the
Moon’s glow on my mother’s favorite music box.

Q. How did you come to be affiliated with “Writing For Peace?”

A. The President and Founder of Writing For Peace, Mrs. Carmel Mawle, sent me an email asking me to consider serving on her advisory panel that teaches young people ages 13-19 how to write for world peace. She has seen some of my work in the small press over time. That was one of the nicest things that ever happened to me. I was also honored to join-in the 10th Anniversary online edition of Poets Against The War that included poets such as Sam Hamill and W.S. Merwin among many fine others.
http://writingforpeace.org/commemorating-ten-years-of-poetic-resistance-paw-post-no-4/

Q. Which of your works was included in the science fiction anthology titled “Battlespace?”

A. Battlespace: A Military Science Fiction Anthology included a micro-fiction story entitled “Special Aptitudes and Space Sensibilities.” This anthology helps to raise funds for the “Warrior Cry Music Project” that pays for musical instruments, lessons, supplies and repairs for veterans involved in the healing process. http://www.amazon.com/dp/0615665225/ref=rdr_ext_tmb

Q. Your children’s poems were included in the charity anthology entitled “Bleed.” Which poems and why are they relevant?

A. Two poems were included. This is a “horror anthology” for children. One poem is an untitled Haiku/Senryu style and the other one is entitled “Bumper Car Bandit.” Both poems brought hope or humor. Lori Michele edited this collection that was published by Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing. I’ve heard that the response has been very positive. http://www.amazon.com/Bleed-Lori-Michelle/dp/0988748886/ref=tmm_pap_title_0

Q. Please tell us more about “Beyond Shark Tag Bay.” Available in Spanish and English, correct? Will it be available in other languages, too?

A. This was the first time that I had ever received an affirmative response for a collection that included a foreign language. I hope that there will be other collections with different languages in the future. “Beyond Shark Tag Bay” is an attempt to let speculative readers have as much enjoyment as I’ve had in past years. It attempts to go further than a lot of other collections have gone while still being understandable. Once again, I got to work with artist Justin Jackley and I loved the front and back covers of the book. I don’t know yet if anyone will translate it into more languages. http://www.blurb.com/b/5236075-beyond-shark-tag-bay#comments

Q. Switching gears, do you believe that writers should constantly be evolving—even insofar as to challenge oneself by writing in new genres—or that it’s better to just concentrate on one genre ’til one’s work is more or less perfected?

A. I guess every writer will determine that for him/herself? I have known writers who basically write the same poem over and over with the same subject matter. I enjoy many areas and writing about different things. I want to keep evolving and exploring new ground. If familiar terrain pops up at the end of the ink pen that is fine, too.

Q. What’s on the horizon for the rest of 2014?

A. I have a lot of things on the horizon. I have work accepted in “The Great Gatsby” anthology at “Silver Birch Press,” “Blues Form” anthology at “Red Paint Hill Publishing,” multiple anthologies at “James Ward Kirk Publishing,” “Silent Fray” and many others. Also many other places that I am waiting to hear from. I am waiting for the chapbook “Bookmobile” from Crisis Chronicles Press and a re-release of “MPs, Snipers and Crime” from “Writing Knights Press” to be sold on the amazon.com website. I don’t know yet what I will try for next in chapbook or book form beyond that.

Q. Where can readers go to connect with you and your darkly delightful work?

A. My email is dspointer@hotmail.com. I keep a site on Facebook and get on “Twitter” every once in a while. A “Google” search for “David S. Pointer” in quotes should pull up quite a bit of poetry-related information.
I’d like to thank Gia Lee Giles for taking the time to interview me about my work. I’d also like to thank all the editors, publishers and readers. Have a blessed day with a dark speculative vibe if you are that way inclined. All the best in future word worlds.

GLG: Thanks, David! Appreciated. And, Bright Blessings to you!

Photo DSP

***Like a hidden track on a CD, here’s a final poem for your reading pleasure!

Leave a Reply

