Interview with the Darkly Delightful Wendy Potocki!

Published May 31, 2014 by glgiles

Wendy Potocki lives and writes in NYC. If that isn’t scary enough, she writes in the genre of horror. She feels creating good horror is an art form. She religiously devotes herself to pursuing it over hill and dale — and in the crevices of her keyboard.

Named one of the Top Ten “New” Horror Authors by Horror Novel Reviews, she has seven self-published novels. Book trailers for many of her works may be found on her official website http://www.wendypotocki.com/. Her newest frightmare is THRILL. It’s a non-stop chillfest and has been attracting a lot of attention. Her next planned projects are The Witch’s Stone, The Virgin, and ZaSo, a Gothic tale of horror. Please subscribe to her mailing list for updates and giveaway information.

http://bicameralwriting.wordpress.com/join-my-mailing-list/

In her spare time, she loves to go for long walks, drink Starbucks Apple Chai Lattes, make devotional offerings to her cat named Persephone and be stilled by the grace, beauty and magic of ballet” (Amazon).

 

 

 

 wpotockiuse

 

 

 

 

You recently held a successful event/giveaway on Facebook, et cetera. Please tell readers about it, and do you plan on having another one this year? Or, in 2015?

Yes, I hosted a fantastic event entitled The Danse Macabre Giveaway. Here’s the link to it on Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/events/436950353115235/

The event was centered around my paranormal mystery called Black Adagio. The book combines horror and ballet into a scary, suspense-filled thriller.  I had a number of brilliantly insane authors participate and give away free copies of their books. I also gave away book swag, t-shirts and skull necklaces. Since skeletons feature prominently in Black Adagio, skulls fit perfectly into the theme.

Yes, I am planning on hosting a new giveaway come October. It’ll be called Halloweenpalooza II. I hosted Halloweenpalooza I last year, and it was so much fun that I decided to do it again. Last year, the participating authors wrote blogs on their scariest paranormal experience. We got some great stories. This year we’re back with another theme. I’m not going to say any more about it other than Halloweenpalooza II will be bigger and better. Here’s a link to the Halloweenpalooza I blog:

http://halloweenpalooza.blogspot.com/2013/10/halloweenpalooza-31-days-of-halloween.html

And Halloweenpalooza I Official Event page on FB:

https://www.facebook.com/events/164385847097718/

The links will give the readers that didn’t attend a chance to sample what you’re in for if you do join our next party. And please read the blog. Some of the personal experiences with ghosts and the supernatural are mind bending! I had no idea I’d get that kind of response, but the authors were very forthcoming in dishing up true encounters.

I was happy to have been included in your event—with the group of “brilliantly insane authors!” *cue crazy-sauce laughter here* Plus, I know that you and I share a love and respect for felines. My cats are certainly some of my muses. Is your cat, Persephone, one of yours?

Of course! Cats provide the perfect dichotomy needed to write. By that I mean, they’re very grounding, but in giving us sure footing, they allow us to soar. I use this unique combination to my advantage. When writing, I constantly glance over at my Persephone. The sight of her all curled up on the couch or kitty condo (yes, she does have her own carpet-covered home inside the one I provide for her), centers me. It gives me a pleasure that all is right in the world, and the relaxation derived from that sense of well-being is used as momentum to get back to work and stop ogling my beautiful furball.

I do have an upcoming series of books where Persephone comes out of the shadows and onto centerstage, but that’s all I’ll say about it right now. Persephone, honey, I’m gonna make you a star!

Can’t wait to read that series! Please tell readers about the wonderful work that the Golden Paw Society of NY is doing to help rescue animals. And, where can readers go to learn more about the Golden Paw Society?

So happy you asked me about this! *drags over soapbox*

Golden Paw Society of NY is a rescue organization that I’ve come to know through Facebook. The have a unique positioning and I believe their mission statement says it all. It is: www.goldenpawsociety.org — GPS: Helping Shelter Cats Find Their Way Into Forever Homes.

To break that down, it means that every few weeks they perform something called “Shelter Runs.” It involves members of GPS going to municipal shelters and pulling animals that have either been housed there for too long a time or that are at risk in terms of being euthanized or succumbing to untreated health issues.

Can I tell you that these Shelter Runs are my favorite times of the month? I get so delighted and have kicked in a few dollars to aid them in getting these abandoned kitties (and sometimes dogs), out of harm’s way. They always post pictures of the animals rescued on these runs. You can find many those pictured on their FB page: https://www.facebook.com/goldenpawsociety/info.

The other thing I love about Golden Paw is that they’re very proactive in posting updates so you can see the before and after shots of these rescues. The difference a little love, nutrition and needed medical treatment make is astonishing. These animals flourish and blossom in such short periods of time. Once the animal reaches a state of good health, they’re put up for adoption … and here’s where the real magic comes in. I simply love, admire and respect the matches Golden Paw makes. I don’t know how they do it, but they do not put the animal through the trauma of giving them to just anyone who asks. The process is way more selective and they seem to weed out those who would only dump the animal after a few weeks. Instead, the matches made are solid, lasting, and, yes, forever! There are tons of updates on the little furballs in their new homes after a few weeks, months and years of arrival! These animals have found safe, loving homes and people who care. For me, that’s what it’s all about!

Four paws up for Golden Paw Society of NY! They’re the best of the bestest!

 

So AWESOME! Please go into more detail about helping our canine friends, too. Please tell readers about the wonderful work that the Big Dog Ranch Rescue is doing. And, where can readers go to learn more about the Big Dog Ranch Rescue?

Big Dog Ranch Rescue is another organization I found through Facebook. Here’s a link to their page:

https://www.facebook.com/bigdogranchrescue

I admire BDRR for the same reasons I do GPS. BDRR is also very transparent. They post pictures of new arrivals as well as after shots of the dog once it’s been cleaned up and fed decent food for a few days. Because you get to bond with the dog in this way, it’s very emotional when they announce the dog has been adopted! It’s always accompanied by a nice picture of the new family with their new four-pawed baby. Often these families will send BDRR photos of how the dog is adjusting to having a home. Usually it’s very well. Who wouldn’t like their own space, tons of love and good food? Then there’s the couch privileges! Pictures of the dogs sprawled out on their doggie bed or going for a walk on the beach for the first time are so precious! I love that BDRR makes such great matches. In fact, I love that GPS and BDR make such successful matches so much so that put together a video that pays tribute to them and all organizations that show compassion and kindness to our four-pawed friends! Here’s the video for those that are interested:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTvgI5xFy78

That’s great…thanks for sharing! Switching gears, when were you named one of the ‘Top Ten New Horror Authors’ by Horror Novel Reviews? Congratulations, by the way!

Thank you! It was quite the honor. I had run across Horror Novel Reviews while web surfing. I loved the site so I read their review policy. I decided to go ahead and send my chiller-diller THE MAN WITH THE BLUE HAT to them, but was unsure if they’d even review it. Believe me, I would have been happy with only that.

Well, a few weeks later, I’m on Twitter and I see a tweet from Matt Molgaard of Horror Novel Reviews and it’s directed at me. I RT’d it. I automatically RT these kind of things so I hadn’t really digested what the tweet was about. I guess I just assumed it was about the review. I went off of Twitter and was opening my email when I did a double take. I’m guessing the morning coffee kicked in at that point! Sometimes it takes a while. Anyway, it was like … duh! What did that tweet say? I scrambled back to Twitter and looked through my Notifications and sure enough, the tweet was something about me being named one the Top Ten New Horror Authors. I was like … wha’?!!! So I punch in the link to Horror Novel Reviews and find the article and … *drum roll* … I’m in it! Yes, there I am named as one of the Ten Best of the 2013. I can’t tell you the thrill that elicited, and the carpet still bears traces of my happy dance.

How many novels have you written? And, are they all classified as horror reads?

I’ve written over ten novels, seven of which can be classified as horror. The others are written under pen names. They include mysteries and fantasy thrillers.

I’d also like to state that although the seven books (THRILL, Black Adagio, The Man with the Blue Hat, Adduné: The Vampire’s Game, Adduné: The House of Cards, The White Lady Murders and The Horns of September) tuck into the horror genre, some do cross over into other categories. For instance, Black Adagio neatly fits into paranormal mystery. Also Black Adagio and my latest frightmare THRILL are suitable for both Adult and YA audience. I don’t write for YA’s, but it just worked out that way.

I know that I’ve been reading a lot about “narrative flow” recently. So, how important do you think it is to good storytelling?

It’s everything. If you don’t have a flow, you don’t have a book—you only have an idea or outline for a book. It’s like comparing a bunch of dots to a drawing where the dots are connected. By drawing that stick figure, the picture begins to emerge. But compare that stick figure to a finished painting.  There’s quite a difference—a depth that adds richness and complexity. It’s in the shading, use of nuances and colors that the true beauty comes into focus and can be considered art and it’s the same with the written word.

I’ve always written to a rhythm that runs through my head when penning a tale. No one told me to do this, it came naturally to me. I don’t know if it’s because of my dance background that this happened, but each story I write has its own unique tempo. Therefore, the way I write each story is different and adheres to this pace.

I experimented with this rhythm in Adduné: The House of Cards. It’s the second book in my vampire trilogy. In one chapter, I literally choreographed the words and action to a song. I must have written that passage over at least thirty or forty times until I got the timing right and the crescendo matched the one in the music.  I was so happy that I nailed it. When I read the final version, I cheered and knew it was worth the effort.

I love that musical connection. So, what’s in the works for the rest of 2014?

Right now, I’m in the midst of editing a new frightmare. It’s called Trillingham and can’t wait to publish it. I hope to have it released this summer. After that, it’s back to working on the third and final entry in the Adduné vampire trilogy. The Reckoning will complete the tale begun with The Vampire’s Game and continued in The House of Cards. The Reckoning has a very complicated storyline and I’m taking my time in getting it right. I am making sure all the questions are answered and that Miranda Perry’s journey into the dark world of vampires leaves readers glad that they were part of the adventure.

Where can readers go to connect with you (social networking sites, blog, et cetera)?

Oh, cheesh! Where can’t they find me? I’m all over social media!

They can twitter me at @WPotocki. They can also find me on Facebook so please show me some love and like my page:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Wendy-Potocki-Author/100285326834525?ref=hl

I have several blogs:

http://bicameralwriting.wordpress.com/

http://legendofthingsonsticks.wordpress.com/

http://wendypotocki.wordpress.com/

I also have a mailing list that you can join so you won’t miss out on anything.

Subscribe to our newsletter

I love to hear from readers, so don’t be shy. And thank you, Gia, for allowing me this opportunity!

My pleasure! Love what you’re about!

Image

 

Leave a Reply

