Interview with Author and Illustrator C.L. Murphy!

Published July 29, 2014 by glgiles
C.L. Murphy

C.L. Murphy

C.L. Murphy is the author and illustrator of the children’s picture book series THE ADVENTURES OF LOVABLE LOBO.  She describes herself as having the spirit of a glitter fairy with milk chocolate dipped wings, who wishes to spread some sparkle and a bit of yum. Her fourth book in the series, LOBO’S HOWLIDAY, was recently named a gold medal winner in the eLit Awards competition! Can you howl “Ho Ho Ho”?
 
Q. Many of your readers have fallen in love with your wolf pup in the series:  “The Adventures of Lovable Lobo!” On your site here you mention that “He’s not your ordinary wolf pup!” Is one of the ways he differs because he’s a ‘vegetarian wolf?’ In what other ways does he differ?
A. He’s a silly one, that Lobo! Yes, he considers himself a herbivore and it’s quite a dilemma to have when you are amongst a pack of apex predators. In the first book of the series, LOBO & POPO FOOL THE PACK, he is asked by the alpha, his father, to provide for the pack as a right of passage. The story line poses some interesting questions. Do you go against your father’s wishes or do you try to fool the pack? It’s meant to be thought provoking and to a encourage discussion. Lobo is not unlike many young children who are eager to please their parents, meet new friends, and curious about life.
NPreaderfaveLit2
Q. What challenges must he overcome to make him the best wolf he can be?
A. I’d say his biggest challenge is that he considers all animals his friends and the thought of eating one of them isn’t a pleasant one.  Haha! At times, he has to deal with the stigma that comes from being feared, although he doesn’t seem to recognize it.  Lobo’s character is one of acceptance, curiosity, kindness with a dash of impetuousness, and a pinch of attention deficit disorder thrown in. Oh my,  I believe I’ve just described myself! As authors, it’s funny how we can’t help but include a little bit of yourselves in the characters we create. Lobo never hesitates to help a friend and aims to be the best furry pal one could ever hope for.
Q. LOL! That’s true. Switching gears, what’s the release date for Book 5?
A. The fifth book in the series should be released by September.  This book will take Lobo and Roxy, his right-hand(wing?) raven, to the Galapagos Islands.  What fun it was to create new characters for the book!  I called upon children of the kindergarten classes, that I visited in March, to help name some of the new characters.  They came up with some very interesting and unusual names and we all giggled over many of the ideas.  That age is a delight to work with, and I find their imagination, honesty and spontaneity quite charming.
Q. So great that “Las aventuras del adorable Lobo” is obviously available in Spanish, too! Is the series available in other languages besides English and Spanish?
A. The process to have LOBO VISITS THE BARNYARD translated in Spanish was an interesting one. The vocabulary is simple in this picture book, but it was surprising how many questions the translator had for me to be certain the words had the same meaning.  What tickled me was when the translator kept insisting on changing the sounds that the farm animals made, as she was reading from the manuscript. The animals’ sounds in the book are the actual audio sounds of the animals not the words.  It took me a bit to get that across.
For now, only the second book in the series is translated into another language.
Q. The ‘PAWSOME’ pledge is nothing short of awesome! Please tell readers what the acronym stands for.
A.  Thanks, Gia! You are PAWSOME and have certainly made my day! The pledge consists of some inspiring words to live by and I wear my PAWSOME wristband proudly, everyday, to help remind me of the pledge.
Play nice…….because that’s the only way to play.
Always be kind…..because kindness is magic.
Work hard……always try your best.
Stand up fur what you believe in……and that includes yourself, too!
Only take what you need……..don’t be greedy.
Make someone’s day…….it’s so important to think of others.
Eat your fruits and greens………….a healthy diet is essential.
Q. If you weren’t a wonderful writer, then what would you be?
A.  I’d be out there looking for Bigfoot! I’m kidding, just wanted to make sure you were still paying attention! While Lobo has met Squatchy, a little Bigfoot,  in LOBO FINDS BIGFOOT, I, on the other hand find it curious that there are so many sightings and yet no conclusive evidence has been discovered. I fantasize about the possibility though….excuse me as I digress.
If you’re asking what I’d consider my dream job, then “paws down”, I’m doing it! Creating for children has always been my passion!  If you would have asked me twenty plus years ago I would have said that my dream job would have been working for Walt Disney Studios. Disney made such an impact on me when I was young, and to me, is the embodiment of everything happy and fanciful.  The fantasy world that he and his legacy continue to create is nothing short of magical.  Pictures do tell a thousand words! Even to this day, watching Disney’s movies I treat as a glorious lesson.  As a very visual person, I’m not just watching, I’m studying the colors, design, the shadows and the sumptuous detail that they include. Walt Disney’s life is one of such inspiration and to think that it all started with a mouse!
Q. I love your sense of humor, so I definitely was! And, I’m pretty sure all readers who haven’t forgotten the magic of words were, too! 🙂 Where can readers go to connect with you and your wonderful work?
A.  The best place to see all things Lovable Lobo is on the website. My favorite social media platform is twitter, and I’d like to invite your readers to engage this wacky wolf pup with a tweet and a follow.


BFReadersfav

 

 

2 comments on “Interview with Author and Illustrator C.L. Murphy!

    • Many thanks, LL! I’m following your blog, too…I can’t help but LOVE Lobo, the ‘herbivore wolf!’ This magician has lots more up her sleeve…thanks for staying tuned! 🙂 #Aroo = big LOVE to you!

  • Leave a Reply

